Diagnosis (Finally) Too Late?

Athena
6 min readAug 7, 2024

We just lost my aunt…. the aunt that I had spoken to every day for the last five years…. the aunt that I viewed as a second mother, a second grandmother to my youngest son and everyone loved. On her passing we had former students telling us how much she had changed their lives — a goal I strive to achieve every day.

Really it started months ago that she was battling things, more tired than normal, always cold, and more. We would go to doctor after doctor and they would run test and tell us everything seemed fine. She had previously had both lung cancer (they removed a lobe of her lung) and breast cancer. We thought she wouldn’t make it the first time with the lung cancer, but she is strong and made it.

As time went on my aunt’s ability to do things decrease, pain increased immensely, appetite reduced, and she was begging us to put her out of pain. We would head off to the ER where each time she would say never again. I’ll admit it was super tough. We spent nights trying pillow after pillow because of bumps on her head that bothered her and stopped her from getting comfortable and I made numerous trips over to help when she forgot some basics, like how to turn off the fan. She would call with questions asking about what she had eaten or what the name of a bird was. I tried hard to make she never felt like she was an imposition, that it was a bother, and to be sure she…

--

--

Athena

Mom of three boys. Computer programmer living in the country with my husband focusing on my hobbies and youngest son. https://ko-fi.com/athenaandrew